crazyprofessional



Gardening – Flower Style

Last year was the first full summer that my husband and I lived in OUR grown-up house. Wreath on the door, fenced in back yard, oh crap the toilet is leaking and I can’t call maintenance…ya know, the whole nine yards. Part of that nice fenced in back yard is a flower garden that was (is) way too much for my gardening skill level and busy work schedule. That didn’t stop us from having people over. I just kindly asked them to ignore the garden and the 4 foot tall thistles growing beside some half wilted lilies.

THIS Summer is a different story. I’m tackling those thistles in their young age – only a foot tall! I also am making sure to spend time in the garden in small increments: an hour here, 30 minutes there. I finally yanked all of those weeds from their unholy spots and laid some mulch down. Now the lilies, lilacs, trumpet vine, clematis, ground ivy and all of the other beauties that I have no idea what they are have a kept home!

NOTE: My dog Pongo was very helpful in the process of laying the mulch. He helped open the bags by ripping them open when I wasn’t looking and made sure the mulch was patted down properly by rolling in it the second it touched the dirt. I recommend having a dog to help you when you garden.


Leave a comment